World Building Month: Plot’s in the way

August 14, 2008 at 1:29 pm (fiction, writing) (, , , , , )

Until yesterday, I was having a ton of fun and just coming up with ideas for the Asgil culture pretty much without restriction. But at some point a plot idea sprang to mind, and I find right now that I can’t escape it. I keep asking myself questions about the culture, but every answer is informed by the plot. Thing is, I don’t even like the idea; I think it’s trite and a little too deus ex machina, and I don’t care to use it as it is now. But it’s seated itself firmly in whichever part of my brain makes up stories, and I haven’t yet figured out how to kick its chair over.

I really wanted to figure out some of the details of the culture first, since it will affect my characters and their actions. With this roadblock, though, I think I might have to create a character or two first. Even if I don’t end up using them directly, maybe they’ll give me some ideas for another way around this world. I’m reluctant to just start writing with only vague notions about culture and characterization; I really do think world building is important if I’m going to create something believable. Has anyone else gotten stuck like this? How did you deal with it?

3 Comments

  1. Kytara said,

    I created this culture once that was a mix of Star Trek lore and Andromeda lore. It was a fascinating culture that I constantly developed ideas, but the story we were writing was Star Trek based and since the culture I was bringing into the fold was more so from ideas that sprang from the Andromeda television series I had to adapt. Keep it in line with the lore, yet still explore those ideas I had with creativity and it really was alot of fun. It was alot of difficult so I can totally relate. Sometimes I would get to a point where I was just stuck and it took me hours to figure out a way around it. Sometimes you just have to be creative and keep going till something “clicks”

  2. Kytara said,

    And I should also note. Sometimes my plot where it took me, would IRK, seriuosly IRK the other person who I was writing this story with because my actions REQUIRED a certain response or a certain action, or a certain consequence that well made the story just that much better in a way. but that much different. It was all very fascinating.

  3. jenniedee said,

    I ended up writing a scene with the main character, and it actually helped. I ran the sort of general setup by a few writer friends on Forward Motion, and they actually thought it was cool, so I decided to just go with it. I’m still not sure where the story starts, or how it ends, but writing the scene let me figure out a few areas to work on. I don’t feel as restricted anymore, and I have a few goals in mind to get me through.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

